Home

International Dog Biscuit Appreciation Day

February 19, 2013

Wilson with a Bone, Not a Biscuit

Wilson with a Bone, Not a Biscuit

If I told you February 23 is International Dog Biscuit Appreciation Day and the related festivities were going to knock your socks off, you might answer in one of three ways:

  1. I don’t care. You will never make me care.
  2. You need professional help.
  3. How can we capitalize on this? (if you’re representing an animal welfare agency)

Every week, funders, the media, community leaders and donors receive many contacts from caring people who want to share exciting information about a program, service or organization that urgently demands our attention.

In these interactions, we almost always hear, “No one else is as passionate about this issue as we are.”  Or “We are different from every other nonprofit in our area.”

I promise, we hear the passion part all the time. It’s not a good selling point. If you are claiming your organization is different from everyone else, make sure you’re aware of others in the nonprofit space. Do your research.

We have to think about our messages carefully based on our audience. I am sometimes guilty myself of being so enthusiastic about something that I forget others may not care or have enough information to know what I am talking about or why it matters. Ever been there?

Let’s think about the 36-Hour Giving Challenge from an International Dog Biscuit Appreciation Day point of view. Questions we might be prepared to answer in the most compelling (but rational) way possible:

  1. Why should I care about the 36-Hour Giving Challenge?
  2. Why should I give to your organization?
  3. What difference will my contribution make?

One last thing: Feb. 23 really is International Dog Biscuit Appreciation Day (just Google it). Wilson may get one of those fancy biscuit treats if I can remember. I hope someone sends me an e-mail to remind me.

-Susie Bowie
Community Foundation of Sarasota County

Leave a Reply

